Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

If it weren’t for bad luck, I wouldn’t have any at all….

on February 6, 2014

I called the vet yesterday to find out how much Chunk’s neuter will cost next week – $400.  Geesh.  On top of the $900 for meds I can’t take, $3200 for the IVF that I can’t start yet, the $700 for the hubs car, and $400 for Chunk’s surgery…what else could there be?

bad luck

Seriously…enough’s enough already…

Oh…there could be more.  Like Chunk taking a header off the bed this morning (regardless that we bought him stairs so this wouldn’t happen).

chunk

He didn’t yelp or whine or anything.  He just went THUMP.  Turns out he’s now 40 pounds of chunkiness.  But as soon as he stood up you could tell something was wrong.  He refused to put any weight on leg.  If it’s any sign of how I’ll be as a mother, I’m screwed.  I cried like a baby.  The kids thought I was insane at work because I was so touchy today.  I finally explained at the end and they all felt horrible for being such trouble today.  I left work early and raced home only to find out that he still wasn’t putting any pressure on his leg.  So…off to the vet we went.  I had two options: 1. anti-inflammatories and cage rest and hope for the best or 2. x-rays, anti-inflammatories and cage rest and hope for the best.  I called the hubs at work and we both agreed to just be safe rather than sorry and make sure his little butt was okay.

1618489_10103346198897518_1194221551_n

Turns out he appears to be okay.  He’s less than thrilled about cage rest, but what’s a fur mother to do.  What will make it worse is my mother will be bringing her Great Dane and Schnoodle over tomorrow night for us to watch while they go away for the weekend.  Sigh.  Poor Chunk.

cage rest

8 responses to “If it weren’t for bad luck, I wouldn’t have any at all….

  1. loveh3 says:

    Did I read correct that your IVF is only costing you $3200, please tell me where that is… Please, I beg of you! Lol

  2. I’m so glad that he’s going to be okay. When we got Tank, he didn’t do stairs or jump. We trained him to do stairs so we never had this problem. He didn’t ever jump off the bed. The puppy we just got though nose dives off of things and doesn’t seem to care. You are not going to be an awful parent because he hurt himself. Bulldogs are the most strong-headed breed I know. If he wanted to jump, he’ll find a way. I can’t believe he weighs 40lbs already. Tank was only 50lbs at 4.5 years old. The puppy is 21lbs at 12 weeks old. I think he might be big. Hoping your bad luck ends soon. 😦

Leave a Reply

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

The Painful Path to Pregnancy

Wanting to be a parent is different than being a parent

