Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Ouch :(

on February 23, 2014

So the Lupron destroys my stomach.  The Menopur and Gonal-F can’t be much worse!  Hell, we’re starting to stim – it’s a great day!  WRONG.

The hubs and I couldn’t go to dinner last week when I wanted to due to another long OR day and an ice storm.  So this weekend, he gave a me a card, totally hilarious, but with a very sweet message inside.

20140223-101945.jpg

We went downtown to the arena district to try a new restaurant and have a beer or two.  It was a great night – the food, the beer, the conversation.  Then, when we came home, I immediately starting icing per my nurse’s instructions when it comes to the Menopur.  Didn’t help.  Both shots hurt like hell and I felt horrible, but there were definitely some tears.  Not how I wanted to end our night so we stayed up a little longer and just laid on the couch together.  This morning, my abdomen is already feeling “off” and there’s a bruise from the Menopur shot, but thankfully he was so smooth with the Lurpon injection this morning I didn’t even know he had done it!

In other random news, I’m on a health kick suddenly.  While I still love my naughty foods, I know I need to start adding in more healthy foods.  So, here I sit on pinterest looking up what I, the picky eater, would be willing to eat.

Also, my dad says Chunk reminds him of Gru’s dog from Despicable Me

gru

where I argue he’s more like the broom dog from Alice in Wonderland.

dog

12 responses to “Ouch :(

  1. Whole Belly says:

    I hope the injections get better! I started getting used to most of them and they stopped causing anxiety so I hope it’s the same for you. Hugs!

  2. I hope the injections get better too. By the end of the 2nd round of IVF stims, I was a pro – (hopefully you don’t have to get as far as me!) I also still have my fair share of chocolate but I found that eating more healthy really helped keep my emotions under control while on the exogenous hormones. Hoping this works for you 🙂

  3. myhopejar says:

    Menopur is the worst. It didn’t matter how gentle my hubby was about it, it always burned going in and left nasty bruises all over my abdomen. I hate that drug. Lupron is awful too, but Menopur is the worst! Glad your hubby got you that card. It shows that he’s trying. Continuing to keep you in my prayers hon.

  4. somedaymama says:

    Im sorry, I hope the injections get better. Good luck!

  5. Alexis McM says:

    Sorry you’re having a hard time with the meds 😦 I’m glad you got a night out though. Keeping you in mind during this process

  6. amywales121 says:

    Nights out and a drink are very needed, so glad you were able to make the time to get some quality time in- having those special times makes the difficult ones just a little easier to bear. Injections are no fun, but hopefully it will be more than worth it in the end! I’ll be thinking of you and hoping before you know it, injections will be a distant memory!

  7. I love that card! Funny thing is I’ve given it to my husband 🙂
    May the pain of the shots be forgotten as soon as you hold the miracle they will bring. XO

Leave a Reply

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

The Painful Path to Pregnancy

Wanting to be a parent is different than being a parent

