Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Dude, My Butt Hurts

on March 6, 2014

Holy shit, Batman.  I had a last minute ultrasound yesterday after work and before Chunk’s first puppy class to see if we were going to be able to proceed.  I got there super early because the professional development class ended early.  I figured I’d just hang out and relax.  As I’m checking in my nurse rubs my back and say, “Hey, you ready for today?”  Ugh….yeah?  Immediately I thought…it’s bad news, my normal doctor is here (now that every doctor in the clinic has seen my hooha) and he’s going to shut us down.  They sent me for blood work and after running out of spots to draw blood for my estridol levels she rolled a vein trying to use a different spot.  She’s lucky I adore her and she makes me giggle or I probably would’ve cried.  They got me back quickly to a different room than I had ever been in.  Not a fan.  I’m a little OCD.  I wanted my normal room.  Again, super nervous.  It took almost 15 minutes for the doctor to come in with the med student who I think I creep out.  He quickly measured 7 follicles that are the appropriate size and said we were good to go!  WAHOO!

I met with the nurse who handed me a 10 page instruction packet.  Complete overload.  I’m so glad it’s all written down because apparently I turn into a squirrel with no concept of what they are saying if they just verbally tell me.  9:30 on the dot.  That was the time for our trigger shot.  I was totally cool until I read the sentence “with a quick dart like motion”.  No.  No dart like motions.  NO NO NO.  Then, the hubs says, “HOLY SHIT! Check out this needle!”.  Cue me crying like a baby.  But (hahaha, no pun intended) I took it like a champ in the lovely oval my nurse drew on my ass check.  HOWEVER, my ass is throbbing today.  I didn’t expect so much soreness from the trigger.  BUT tomorrow morning is the first of two important days and I need to go read pages 2 – 5 of my packet so I’m off.

funny

If only I was this brave.

 

14 responses to “Dude, My Butt Hurts

  1. Yay! 7 follicles all the right size!! Good news! You’re story about the trigger shot made me smile. Here’s my story with my first trigger shot. http://acalmpersistence.wordpress.com/2013/11/06/trigger-laughter/ My butt hurt the next day too. “Dart like motion” is not fun! 🙂 Glad you took it like a champ too!

  2. Melanie says:

    You ARE that brave! You not only suffer the physical discomfort of going through infertility, but the emotional ones as well! Chin up, girl! This is gonna be good for you! Eye on the prize!

  3. carolina647 says:

    I am so sorry you have to go through this but I must say that picture made me laugh! Sometimes I wonder what would happen if men had to go through any of this stuff. I love my DH dearly but I do think women have a unique and special strength. Btw I hope your butt feels better soon 🙂

  4. Elisha says:

    Yay for seven follicles! Holy crap about the shot! Yikes!!

  5. 7 is a consistent number on the blogs today. Good luck!

  6. Lol–you find the best pics for your posts! C’mon, you gotta be excited that the stims are finished! Hope the retrieval is a piece of cake 🙂 XO

  7. anabea1 says:

    How exciting!! That picture is so cute! I wish I could handle needles like that too…

    • ksquared0710 says:

      I’m such a baby. Hoping the progesterone isn’t as bad although I’ve heard otherwise!

      • anabea1 says:

        I heard that if you use some sort of vibration on the area getting the shot, the shot barely hurts, if at all. Like one of those little massagers. The vibration causes the area to go numb. I haven’t tried this yet but I plan on trying it out in the future. 🙂

  8. Whole Belly says:

    I love the photo! Like you I was terrified of the trigger shot when I saw the needle. In fact, I almost fainted after it was over b/c I had gotten so worked up. 7 follicles is great! Wishing you loads of luck and crossing my fingers for you.

Leave a Reply

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

The Painful Path to Pregnancy

Wanting to be a parent is different than being a parent

