Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Not for the Queasy…

on April 20, 2014

I know I’ve been absent lately.  Two reasons why:

 

1. I feel guilty.  I don’t want to be “that girl”.  You know what I’m saying.

2. The commonly misnomer-ed Morning Sickness.

1251edfaab675ccf24137cc7a6739952

We had our 8 week (really 7w6d) ultrasound on Thursday.  While the waves of nausea have been coming and going I hadn’t become sick to the point of actually vomiting.  The hubs said he wouldn’t believe this was real until he saw me puke.  Well….6 a.m. Thursday morning he was granted that moment.  I had tossed and turned all night before finally getting out of bed and losing everything I had eaten in the past 24 hours.  Another round of vomiting before we headed out the door and I thought I was done.

We got to the clinic and it was hard to sit in the waiting room and be excited about seeing our peanut when you can read the emotions on the faces of those around you.  (See reason #1 I’ve been absent)  I know how they feel and I didn’t want the tiniest bit of excitement to show as we waited.  Once in an exam room, the hubs ratted me out to my nurse about getting sick and she said she’d talk to the doc for me.

Side note: ultrasounds in a fertility clinic should never be done by a resident.  When you are nervous beyond belief about only seeing a heartbeat last time and vomiting twice (to the point I think I pulled a muscle) the first words I DO NOT want to hear are, “Hmmm….”

Anyways – our doc took over, zoomed in, and there the peanut was.  Heart more visibly beating at 156 beats per minute.  I haven’t been emotional about being pregnant until that moment we heard that sweet, sweet sound.  Suddenly, puking was the least of my worries.

photo (5)

Note the verbiage in the background….turns out they love me enough to write me a prescription for Diclegis.  We didn’t fill it Thursday as we were sure it might actually be a stomach bug and not morning sickness since I couldn’t peel myself from the couch the rest of the day.  Friday I was feeling better, did some shopping, and dropped off my script only to get sick at the price.  For 30 days it was $145!!  A drop in the bucket compared to what we’ve paid for everything at this point, but still shocking so I said I’d think on it and be back on Saturday.  And I was.  I was so nauseous on Saturday I filled half the script.  Sadly, I couldn’t take them until bedtime as they are time release capsules.  So, I picked at Easter dinner with my parents and the hubs.  All went seemingly well until the middle of the hockey game when I just couldn’t take it anymore.  Another round with the porcelain princess.

Today, I’m spending Easter with the pups as the hubs went to be with his family.  I would’ve went, but fearful it’s not just morning sickness I didn’t want to get his ailing grandfather or baby niece sick.  And if it is just morning sickness – I didn’t want to feel so uncomfortable in the car for 5 hours or at their house all day.  My greatest concern is keeping the peanut healthy when I can’t eat (I’ve lost 3 pounds since Thursday).  Today I will try to eat a little more than yesterday and hopefully keep it down.  Fingers crossed.

12 responses to “Not for the Queasy…

  1. I am happy for the good news about hearing the heartbeat! And I hope you feel better soon ❤

  2. somedaymama says:

    Congrats! Feel better soon.

  3. hannahlkuhn says:

    I was getting teary for you. Yay!

  4. Congrats on the heartbeat and feel better! Hopefully the meds will do the trick

  5. Congrats! Seeing ultrasounds, even other peoples, never gets old! If you don’t want to fork out the $ for the other half of your Rx, you should ask your doctor about over the counter Unisom and B6.. It’s essentially the same thing for SOO much less!

    • ksquared0710 says:

      Thanks! I’ll have to look into that. The pharmacist told me to look up a manufacturer coupon for a full fill which I found for $30 but I think it won’t last a month bc I’m going to end up taking 3 a day instead of 2….

  6. My Journey says:

    Good luck. Hopefully the meds work!

  7. Congrats!!! That little bean is so freakin’ cute! 😛 Hope the morning sickness wears off soon, though…

  8. myhopejar says:

    I’m so sorry your feeling so crummy hon, but super thrilled for you that all went well at your ultrasound appointment!

  9. I’m glad you feel like crap–because if you didn’t, you would be freaked that something was wrong and wishing you had morning sickness for some reassurance. So, I’m glad you’re getting all this reassurance! XO

Leave a Reply

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

The Painful Path to Pregnancy

Wanting to be a parent is different than being a parent

