Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Pomp & Circumstance & Questions

on May 1, 2014

So many things happened today that need to be celebrated. Celebration isn’t something I’ve been good at.  Throughout this entire journey I’ve been angry, disappointed, beyond upset and today I realized I have to let that all go and enjoy every minute of the next 30 weeks.  So, without further adieu a list of things to be celebrated and embraced today!

 

1. I graduated to my regular OB!  Cue all sorts of emotions.  For some reason, when our doctor (who is incredibly strange, but highly talented) shook my hand and said goodbye I about lost it.  The office has been there for me in so many ways.  They’ve been horribly honest with us, walked us through the difficult news and process efficiently but with care, have been excited with us, and helped us achieve a huge goal we couldn’t do with out them.  They handed us a parting gift today.  What looked like a jewelry box was more appropriately a baby spoon with a note.  I’m touched and excited to move on to regular office, but sad to know I won’t see them again until we’re ready to try for #2.

Spoon

2. We saw the babes today.  We’re measuring exactly 10 weeks and the li’l one is measuring 1″.  The babes is starting to look more human which makes it so much more real suddenly and we heard the amazing Whoosh sound again.  It makes my heart melt.

10weeks

3. We completed our check-in visit with a nurse practitioner at my regular OB.  While I love my OB I wasn’t a huge fan of the NP, but hey, she probably has these types of appointments once a day and it was nothing more than paperwork.  However, the discussions we had really made us think about the near-ish future.  We have decisions to be made about bringing this little bean into the world.

4.  I get to play the cow bell tomorrow at work!  The kids in grades 3-5 are done with 3 days of state testing tomorrow afternoon and some of the teachers are playing a little musical number to celebrate their hard work.  The music teacher even let me bring it home to practice!

cowbell

 

5.  I didn’t have to deal with the annoyingly fertile girl at work today who told me yesterday, “Ugh…I don’t know about you but I’ve got to unbutton my pants already”.  Bitch, Please…  I responded with, “Geez, must be nice that it’ just now happening.  I’ve been bloated since they knocked my ass out and took all the eggs out of my swollen ovaries.”

bitchplease

6. Maybe most importantly….I’m done with my progesterone shots!!!! Wahoo!!!!!

Now…here’s the questions I’ve had today.

1.) Should we do a pregnancy announcement?  This is such a hard decision for me.   I want to relish the same moments every other pregnant woman gets, but know the impact it has on me and on other women in a similar situation.  The hubs is all for it, but after I explained my hesitancy he was understanding.

2.) What thank you gift do I send my doctor and nurse at the clinic?  I want to get them both something, but I’m not sure what’s appropriate.

3.) What things should I be documenting about this pregnancy?  I’m already 25% through this and am upset with myself for not being more excited about this or making notes about the journey.  I have decided I want to start a new blog and link it to this one.

15 responses to “Pomp & Circumstance & Questions

  1. Elisha says:

    Oh your little babes is a cutie! hehe! Congrats on the cow bell and I say go for it on the pregnancy announcement 🙂 Your lil babes deserves to be announced like royalty 🙂 hehe (but totally understand your hesitation)

    waitingforbabybird.com

  2. that 10 week u/s was the best. they stop looking like flickering blobs, and all of a sudden look human. I remember Gus looked like a gummy bear at his, and he was wiggling around like a madman (which he continues to do now, about a year later).

  3. julieann081 says:

    Congratulations on all of your good news! Have fun playing the cowbell. 🙂 I think deciding whether or not to do a pregnancy announcement is up to you. I understand the hesitation, but you should celebrate all of this hard work and the fact that you’re bringing a new life into the world in my opinion!

  4. myhopejar says:

    I’m so thrilled for you hon! I agree, your babes deserves a special announcement. I understand your hesitation though.

  5. oc15 says:

    i think you will look back fondly on pics of your growing belly. i would recommend taking monthly or bi-monthly photos (weekly may be a little of over the top…. but lot of people do that too). there is also a template going around where women track what’s going on with their pregnancy each week. could be fun to do this and add it to a baby book at the end of your pregnancy.

    • ksquared0710 says:

      I like the idea of a monthly photo! I don’t think I’d keep up with weekly and I hate having my picture taken anyways! I’ve seen the template you’re talking about. I’ll have to look at it again.

  6. Love the US picture! What a sweet gesture from your RE office! I too say go for it on the pregnancy announcement! 😄

  7. That picture is adorable. 🙂

    As for the announcement…there’s someone I follow (and I can’t for the life of me remember who…it also may be someone I follow on my personal blog) who has IF and maybe RPL and when she announced her pregnancy she did a video with little signs that basically told the story of how they got there. All the tears, the testing, the surgeries, etc etc. And then I think they held up a photo of the ultrasound. I thought it was really touching and an appropriate way to announce. She also actually apologized to her friends and family as well for not being able to share in their pregnancy joys, and that this has been why.

    I think I will probably do something very similar. Of course right now I’m thinking I’ll wait until 6mos before I announce (HAHAHAH JK…kinda) but most friends and fam don’t know about what’s been going on. So I thought I would kind of simultaneously pay tribute to how hard it has been to get there and also celebrate my baby.

    Of course. I’m not there yet. This is all wishful thinking.

    And…I’m done rambling. Congrats on making it this far and graduating to your regular OB. 🙂 ❤

    • ksquared0710 says:

      You weren’t rambling! I totally get it. I like the way that person announced. I’m not sure my husband would be okay with that as it’s MFI and he’s so self conscious about it. He really wants to include the dogs of all things – haha. Your time will come and and I can’t wait for when it does!

      • Haha thank you. I hope so. At the tail end of my first Clomid/trigger cycle, and impatiently awaiting my first beta in 5 days. UGH!

        I’m sorry about the hubby! 😦 I can totally understand his feelings… If anything, reassure him that we women get self-conscious, too. In the same way the cavemen were expected to be able to “shoot straight,” cavewomen have been expected to “catch and hold.” Epic fails all around. 🙂 ❤

        P.S. I think the dogs idea is CUTE!!! There's no way I could get my cat to be part of ours. She's a psycho. I lover her…but she's a terror. And that's putting it lightly. Hehe.

  8. I love the RE gift!! It is sad to leave them though…you’ll have to let me know what you get them. And I have been thinking about the whole pregnancy announcement too. I would like to, but I want it to in some way express the unique struggle we had. I am currently scouring pinterest for some idea.
    And super yay for the graduation to your regular OB!! I love the u/s pic too!

  9. […] ← Pomp & Circumstance & Questions […]

Leave a Reply

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

