Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Decisions Made

on May 5, 2014

Last post, I typed out some questions to really think about.  Some decisions were made quickly and others I am still thinking about.

decisions

 

1.) Should we do a pregnancy announcement?   I’m still hesitant.  I’ve made a copy of the one I’d like to share and I plan on showing the hubs tonight when he gets home.  With his blessing (he’s the one that wanted to do it originally and include the dogs) I will make a few copies for family members.  I’m not sure if I’ll put it on Facebook or not.  My mom doesn’t quite get why.  It’s hard for her to understand the feeling that comes with seeing things like that when you’re struggling to have a child of your own.  So this is the one question that I can’t get past.  I want to celebrate our hard work and this miracle baby, but am concerned about hurting the feelings of others.  This is the one I made online.  If we decide to go with it I want to get a better picture of Chunk and include our last ultrasound.

 

Possible

 

2.) What thank you gift do I send my doctor and nurse at the clinic?  Originally, I was going to get a bottle of wine and a restaurant gift card for our doctor and nurse, but felt like we’d be leaving out the rest of the staff that played such a huge part like the embryologist and the lovely lady who drew my blood 8 gazillion times.  So we decided against the wine and gift card and decided to have lunch catered on Thursday from Panera.  It’s double what we intended to spend but I feel much better about including everyone.

3.) What things should I be documenting about this pregnancy?   I finally caved and snagged the template online.  I tweaked it a little and I don’t have a picture to add yet, but decided it was the most comprehensive way to do it and remember all the good that we’re are blessed to be experiencing.  Here’s what I’ve got so far…

How far along: 10 weeks, 3 days (25% of the way there!)

Days til due date: 206

Size of baby: 1 inch – the size of a kumquat (side-note: what the hell is a kumquat?)

Total weight gain: After two weeks of serious morning sickness I broke even!

Maternity clothes: Not yet, although I bought a bigger size pants so I could breathe!

Sleep: 1-2 potty breaks per night

Stretch marks: nope, although I wouldn’t be surprised if my boobs get some soon.  I’m busting out of my bras.

Best moment this week: Taking my last progesterone shot and seeing the baby look like a baby and not so much like a blob

Miss anything? Booze.  🙂

Movement:  Nothing yet

Food cravings: Red Icee and popcorn

Anything making you feel queasy or sick: Just about everything.  The smell and thought of some foods makes me gag.

Showing? I like to pretend even though I’ve never gotten past the bloated look since egg retrieval

Gender: at least 8 more weeks to go!

Labor signs: Nada

Symptoms: Serious morning sickness, sore boobies, super tired

Belly button in or out?  Innie

Wedding ring on or off? On

Happy or moody most of the time:  Happy.  Exhausted, but happy.

Looking forward to: The next ultrasound appointment

Baby business being taken care of: stocking up on diapers, things of the non-gender related nature

What’s Going on with Baby: Baby has completed the most critical part of development and will start to rapidly grow and mature.  Baby can swallow and kick.  Major organs are starting to function.  Baby’s limbs can bend.  Little fingernails are forming and baby is getting peach fuzz hair!

 

23 responses to “Decisions Made

  1. Melanie says:

    Love the announcement! So cute!

  2. Alexis McM says:

    So happy to read all of this. The announcement is cute!

  3. AndiePants says:

    Bulldogs + babies are the best, so bulldog + baby announcement is right behind.
    I think its really kind and amazing that you are being so thoughtful about whether to do an announcement or not. I can’t help you decide, but I want to appreciate your thoughtfulness.

  4. amywales121 says:

    Cute announcement! How nice of you to have lunch catered for the whole office!

  5. hannahlkuhn says:

    You’re awesome for considering the facebook thing. I have decided that if I ever have the opportunity I will not publically share anything on facebook and instead create a group or just update the blog which is connected to my facebook. This one, only those who make a decision to be included can be and I won’t ever make anybody feel how I’ve felt.

    • ksquared0710 says:

      We aren’t as open as you when it comes to this journey. It’s been a difficult one for my husband to deal with but I like your idea.

      • hannahlkuhn says:

        You could still remain private with a Facebook group, I have seen couples with zero fertility issues do it so they didn’t “clog up the newsfeed”

      • ksquared0710 says:

        I guess my question is how do people know about the group? Wouldn’t you have to tell people the good news and then let them decide? If I do it, I only plan on announcing and that’s it. No daily post or even weekly. There wouldn’t be another post until the baby was here.

      • hannahlkuhn says:

        You could just invite people you know would be interested or post a status like: “Let me know if you want to be a part of our family page and keep up with us.” Vague enough to not hurt feelings but kind of implies the intentions.

  6. julieann081 says:

    I think the announcement is adorable. 🙂 Could you post a note with it to people struggling with infertility if you post it on Facebook? Just a thought. I think the suggestion above is also a good one!

    • ksquared0710 says:

      I love the idea of adding a note if we decide to do fb! It doesn’t have to be super personal but we can make mention of our struggle so others are aware to a point.

  7. My Journey says:

    I love the announcement! I can’t really speak for your friends and family, but even if they are struggling with infertility, wouldn’t they want to hear of your miracle?

  8. Omg. Cutest announcement ever!

  9. Elisha says:

    I love the announcement!

  10. myhopejar says:

    I love the announcement. It’s adorable! I completely understand your hesitancy. It’s so tough to know what the right thing to do is. On the one hand, we know how hard it is to see those announcements, but on the other hand this is a happy time for you and you have the right to show your joy for this pregnancy. You went through a lot to get here. Your gift to the clinic was perfect and I loved reading your updates! Continuing to say so many prayers for you and your little kumquat 🙂

  11. Lisette says:

    Cute! You’ll do what you feel is the right thing for you. Whatever you decide it’s all good news! xx

Leave a Reply

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

The Painful Path to Pregnancy

Wanting to be a parent is different than being a parent

