Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

What a Difference a Year Makes

on May 11, 2014

Last year this time, I was staring at a stark white HPT.  Every month were ttc, the tww was over on a holiday, birthday, or other major milestone and for so many months ruined each one.  This year has been so different and if you want to stop reading now…I get it.  I promise.

The hubs went out without me knowing and bought two presents with the most appropriate card ever from him.

Seriously, this card is so him and I love it.

Seriously, this card is so him and I love it.

I was blown away.  The first present was a prenatal massage from my favorite place here in Cbus.

Look at him be all sweet and stuff

Look at him be all sweet and stuff

The other was a picture frame with 6 spots….3 of them filled with our first 3 ultrasounds.

bean

I cried most of the morning, but got myself together to go to my parents.  We dropped off her crazy bit bouquet of tulips and her two cards (the printed announcements came in the mail yesterday) and she handed me a card and a gift card for a mani/pedi from my favorite salon.  Man, do I feel blessed.

At breakfast, I indulged and had a whole chocolate chip pancake and some orange juice.  I was proud of myself because that’s the most I’ve been able to handle in a while.  While checking out they handed my mother and myself a box of chocolates that said, “I Love Mom”.  I know they were only being kind because we were two women of child bearing age, but it was still really sweet.

After we got home, hubs asked if we could let “the world” know to which I said okay with a heavy heart and way too much superstition in my heart.  However, I know we will not be “safe” until we bring this baby home.  Things could go wrong at 6 weeks, 10 weeks, 25 weeks…you never know.  You just give it to the higher power you believe in and pray it will all work itself out in the end.

I also told my students this week as my darling principal has let the news out to even more people who have been apparently talking about me in the hallway.  I had two students ask me on Wednesday so I felt the need to squash it as a rumor and just let them know.  We played hangman and when they finally got it, it was the most adorable thing ever.

 

Please ignore the sloppy handwriting as I was shaking

Please ignore the sloppy handwriting as I was shakings

How far along? 11 weeks 2 days

Days til due date: 200

Size of baby? 1 1/2 inches – the size of a fig.  Seriously…who picks the related item?  A fig?!

Total weight gain? Up a pound.  I’ll take it.

Maternity clothes: Not yet…although I’m looking forward to yoga pants and tank tops all summer!!

Sleep: Still getting up for  1-2 potty breaks per night and not sure if it’s a surge of hormones but having crazy vivid dreams again!

Stretch marks: none that I can see!

Best moment this week: Letting others in on our secret and celebrating Mother’s Day

Miss anything? Besides a good stiff drink on a shitty day, nothing else really.

Movement:  Nope.  Too soon still.

Food cravings: Red slushies and Super Pretzels

Anything making you feel queasy or sick: Struggling with meat so I need to find a new source of protein.  Boo. 

Showing? Still rocking the bloated belly although when I told my students this week one of them replied, “But you’re not fat enough to be pregnant!”  Bless his little heart!  A+ for that kid!

Gender: at least 7 more weeks to go!

Labor signs: Too soon

Symptoms: Same as last week – serious morning sickness, sore boobies, super tired

Belly button in or out?  Innie

Wedding ring on or off? On

Happy or moody most of the time: Slightly emotional and by slightly I mean I cry at the drop of the hat.

Looking forward to: continuing to “nest”.  The rain helped us stay in and get so much done inside this weekend!

Baby business being taken care of: sending out announcements to close, immediate family.  I’m sure there is more I should be doing but I’m suddenly feeling like I don’t know where to begin!

What’s Going on with Baby: Baby can kick, stretch, open their hands and bones are beginning to harden.

 

 

4 responses to “What a Difference a Year Makes

  1. makingababyv says:

    I love the way you told your students! I’m not telling mine, and by the time they see me next year, hopefully I’ll be showing.

  2. myhopejar says:

    Happy Mother’s Day ❤

  3. Stefanie says:

    Love the frame with the ultrasound pictures! Congrats!

  4. I LOVE this! Made me tear up at all of the Mother’s Day thoughtfulness! You’re a blessed mama!

Leave a Reply

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

The Painful Path to Pregnancy

Wanting to be a parent is different than being a parent

