Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

My Last Pregnant Update (That Was Supposed To Be…)

on January 10, 2015

From what I can recall and what little notes I left in my draft this was my last update at 34+ weeks.  I delivered 5 weeks later. I’m currently finishing up his birth story as time allows.

Here goes nothing.

I attended breastfeeding class that the hospital hosts.  I didn’t take any notes at the other class but blasted through three full sheets of paper furiously writing down tips, tricks, and important information.  Mostly “buzzed = ok, drunk = pump and dump”.  I later found out they make test strips that you can dip in your milk to see if it’s ok!  Say wwhhhhaaattt?!?!  The hubs didn’t come with because I told him not to.  What dude wants to sit through that.  Apparently the 5 men that were with their women did and then I felt bad.  So I sent him this picture to show him the creepy fake baby that had been staring at me during the entire class.

Note the creepy fake baby staring at me all class...

Note the creepy fake baby staring at me all class…

We took a break during class, came back, and the lady in the picture elbowed the baby off the table.  She screamed…I…I laughed uncontrollably.  It was awesome.

We had the baby shower in New York.  Holy long drive, Batman.  We were there for a total of 27 hours, 10 of which were spent in the car traveling to and fro.  It was great though and so nice to see so much family that I don’t typically get to see.  Lots of baby goodies and tons of diapers.  If you’re having a shower and have any say ask for a diaper raffle.  I won’t need to buy diapers for a long, long time.

shower2

Learning how to use my ring sling

Learning how to use my ring sling

Dragged the hubs to a baby basics class.  What a waste of time and money.  Although he did a great job swaddling the little guy and then promptly unrolled him like he was rolling out a rug to put down.  If you’ve ever been around kids, don’t bother signing up for one of these!

The hubs co-workers through him a “Man Shower”.  Super awesome.  Except it was at a bar….  And I couldn’t drink…. However, a pediatrician friend said the little man was fully developed at that point and a drink wouldn’t hurt.  Ha.  No.  Do you know how much time, energy, and money I’ve got in this thing.  No way.  But thank you for sharing.  Anywho, it was a fun night out when I was initially dreading it.

Had some hiccups with the nursery, but it’s finally done and I love it,

nursery3 nursery2 nursery1

The hubs ran his first 1/2 marathon.  I’m super proud of him (and jealous too) because it’s something I don’t think I could do.  My mom agreed to go with me and cheer him on so I made us silly signs to hold.  Hers said, “Obligatory Motivational Poster” which not all runners found as silly as I did,  Here’s my sign…

sign

Thankfully after waiting in the freezing cold a nice gentlemen told us we were standing at the wrong 13 mile mark (Who knew there were two!?!?) and I waddled my ass down to the right one just in time to see him run by.  It was awesome.

Finally, I’ve been trying to take pictures here and there and finally put them all together to see the comparison.  So without further ado…

compare

How far along? 34 weeks 2 days

Days til due date: 39

Size of baby? 18” and almost 5 pounds!

Total weight gain? Let’s not talk about this….

Maternity clothes: Almost exclusively – mixing and matching what I can

Sleep:  Ridiculous.  I can’t get comfy and once I do, I’m up seconds later for a bathroom break.

Stretch marks: Still none that I can see.

Best moment this week:  Feeling like most of the baby to do list is done!

Miss anything? Outside of sleep I feel pretty good.

Movement:  He’s still kicking my ass.

Food cravings:  Still kinda subsided.

Anything making you feel queasy or sick: Past it!

Showing? Still small to most people which is of course slightly upsetting since we worked so hard to get here!

Gender: It’s a boy!

Labor signs: Think I’ve seen a few of the Braxton Hicks contractions but it’s hard to tell if it that or he’s stuck in a strange position.

Symptoms:  Heartburn, swollen feet and ankles, can’t sleep, super emotional for absolutely no reason at all.

Belly button in or out?  Pretty flat

Wedding ring on or off? Trying to wear it when I go out, but comes off as soon as I’m home.

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy but tired which makes me super emotional lately.

Looking forward to: meeting this little monster already!

Baby business being taken care of: Figuring out the Moby wrap and how some other items work.

What’s Going on with Baby: According to babycenter he’s getting fat this week.

3 responses to “My Last Pregnant Update (That Was Supposed To Be…)

  1. Elisha says:

    i love the nursery!!!! Good job Momma!!!

  2. Did you find the breast feeding class helpful in hindsight? I cant decide if I want to do the whole class thing. I love love love the nursery!

    • ksquared0710 says:

      In hindsight, I could’ve spent lots of time looking up that information myself but it was a good “starter” course. I wish I would’ve watched more videos at home about a proper latch and read more about the nitty gritty of bf’ing. I was not as prepared as I should’ve been. The lactation consultant I saw was most insightful when she said, “This is the one thing you can not control nor practice for when you have your first baby”. Made me feel lots better.

Leave a Reply

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

The Painful Path to Pregnancy

Wanting to be a parent is different than being a parent

