Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Worth Reading

on January 13, 2015

I’m a big advocate for hospital births and itty bitty birth plans.  Medical professionals know what they’re doing and we need to learn to trust them with our most precious cargo.

If you want to have a home birth have at it.  All the more power to you.  However, the chick in the article below outlines her disappointing and dangerous home birth.  I’m not trying to discourage anyone from having a home birth but just like I didn’t have the whimsical hospital delivery we all hope for, we need to be aware of the other side of home births when you don’t have a medical professional at your call.

I’m thankful both she and her baby are healthy because it was a very scary situation.  I’m more thankful she shared her story.  Check it out because it’s worth reading.

An Intense Home Birth That Left Everyone Breathless

Photographs-Home-Water-Birth

7 responses to “Worth Reading

  1. While i understand you intention of this post i respectfuly disagree with it. We all know that there are risks when giving birth reguardless where you do it. Only 1% of US homebirths require a hospital transfer and there is no difference between maternal or fetal death rates between hospital or home births. Its important to take into account the health of yourself, your child and your pregnancy before attempting a home birth as well as your location to a hosipal. However, hospital births are statisitaly no more safe than a home bith with a registered nurse midwife. This is not intended to spur a argument only to show that both sides of the coin have pros and cons. The issue i have is that the majority of home birth media is focused on negative outcomes instead of showing good outcomes too, yet the media doesnt show any attention to the negative side of hospital births or the women affected by them. I am glad the mother and child are safe from this story and the pictures where beautiful.

    • ksquared0710 says:

      I appreciate your post and actually agree with you on many points. However, I honestly have not come across a negative homebirth story until now. I’ve read lots of beautiful stories which makes me feel that it has created disillusioned mommas to be that it’s this beautiful calm situation when in reality things can go wrong if you’re not with the right people. I think the important thing is that women understand all the things that you mentioned (because I don’t know that all women understand both sides completely) and do a lot of research into their midwife and Doula if they plan on a home birth.

  2. I feel like I got a completely different view from reading the article. Yes, they had to call for help, but it showed how medical intervention can align with a home birth when necessary. Although there was trauma during delivery, Baby and Mom are both fine. I think her situation could have happened in either a home or hospital. She was fortunate that she was close enough to receive medical intervention though. Her story is a reminder that anything can go wrong – no matter where, how or how or when you give birth. Thank you for sharing it with us!

    • ksquared0710 says:

      I love that we all see such different things! I think my major issue with her story is that without fetal monitoring they didn’t catch what they could’ve caught at the hospital. I feel like a lot of the issues she had could’ve been prevented. Don’t give me wrong I am in awe of women who can do a homebirth. I just hope they have midwives and doctors nearby that are going to be able to help in case of an emergency.

  3. As a NICU nurse- I would never have a home birth unless it were in a facility connected to a hospital. I’ve seen and taken care of too many sick, sick babies that were birthed at home.

Leave a Reply

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

The Painful Path to Pregnancy

Wanting to be a parent is different than being a parent

