Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Failed IVF Consult

on October 15, 2015

Typical there is nothing you did wrong talk. I get it. Let’s talk about you, doc. Why did we transfer such poor quality embryos? Answer-we transfer no matter what. Sweet. Thanks for that. Anything to improve egg quality. Answer- no. Tells us there is a 40-45% chance it will work next time (it was 60% with Evan and 50% this time) and he thinks if we go through with it my body would handle two more trials before we would need donor eggs which for us, we wouldn’t push it that far. 

Called the insurance company on the way home. We were grandfathered in to the 25k max and we’ve used just about $22k. He says another cycle would be about $13k out of pocket (seems rather low) so take away ) $4k and were looking at another $9k which is almost what we spent this round. 

The hubs asked, “if we took money out of the equation would you do it?”  I surprised myself when I quickly answered yes. I was unsure about having another before but now, now I am positive. I want Evan to have a brother or sister. I don’t want him to be an only child. I’ll except it if after a point there is no other option. 

So that’s where we’re at. The earliest he thinks we could start up would be December so we’ll see what happens. He gave the nurse my charts and I’m going to call their financial woman. 

I’m also calling the other popular clinic in the area who has a higher success rate than the one we’ve been going to. At this point it’s a numbers game. 

P.S. Don’t forget to light a candle (or three in our case) for all your babies that once were, no matter how briefly. Hugs. 

5 responses to “Failed IVF Consult

  1. We have had egg quality issues and this time did down ref but also took 3mg of melatonin each night and our quality was dramatically better. I have heard of a lot of ladies getting good results with the melatonin so just some food for thought

    • ksquared0710 says:

      I just started taking one and a half milligrams of melatonin each night last week and have been afraid to take 3 mg because I’ve heard it can mess with ovulation. Did you take the melatonin every night and for how long? Also I’m special but what does down ref mean?

      • I took the 3mg during down regs and stims only. We went from 3 viable embryos from 14 eggs to 9 from 18! Down regulation is a type of cycle where you go on the pill and other meds before starting stims.

      • ksquared0710 says:

        That’s the type of cycle we’ve done twice. I didn’t realize it had a name. Lol. I plan on taking it until December if and when we decide to do another cycle. Thanks for the response.

  2. I like how you took the money out of the equation to get to the root of what your soul desires. I hope the next leg of this journey is a success.

Leave a Reply

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

