Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Out of Pocket

on October 20, 2015

If we have any insurance coverage left it’s less than $3,500. Assuming it’s gone (we won’t find out til December) we’re looking at $9,500 for IVF with ICSI and about another $5,000 for the meds for slow responders. Decisions, decisions….

10 responses to “Out of Pocket

  1. sroseb83 says:

    Ugh, I seriously hate the world of insurance when it comes to IF. I know you have been through a lot more than me with IF already and have a lot more experience. And I also see that there weren’t any questions asked or advice needed… but… from my experience where we had to pay every single penny out of pocket, have it fail, now have paid another $10k in FET with one fail and one TBD, we still wouldn’t change anything we did, even if this next round doesn’t work. And we plan on doing it all over again if needed. Just some food for thought. It’s definitely a tough decision and either one is valid, fo sho! šŸ™‚

    • ksquared0710 says:

      Tell me about it…insurance is such an ugly word. The only thing holding me back is the 100k in student loan debt and $12k we already have accumulated. I’d do it in a heartbeat if I could toss the student loan debt.

      • sroseb83 says:

        holy hell! Don’t even get me started on student loan debt too!!!!! ugh. If only EVERYWHERE would just support IF treatment, the world would be a better place all around. Or make college more affordable. ya know… something like that. šŸ™‚

  2. Caroline says:

    Ugh money is the worst!!! I totally feel ya. We have had zero insurance coverage and it sucks. We totally have the student loan debt as well (right at $100k too). I am sorry you are in the same boat we are in! No advice really just know you aren’t alone! Hugs!

  3. Amanda says:

    Have you ever looked into the financing they have available for IVF treatments? They always offer the pamplet to us but I haven’t ever looked into what type of offers they have.

  4. akw62307 says:

    I hate that money has to be a huge deciding factor for you. I so agree with your comment above about “I hate money”. You make a good point about being able to accept debt as long as you can make the payments. I hadn’t thought of it that way and I often get frustrated because of finances.

    Wishing you the best with the decision you come to and that you find peace with it.

  5. That’s pretty much what our IVF cycle cost us. We had minimal drug coverage (got maybe half back) but nothing for the actual IVF. When you look at the big picture is another $15K really going to make a big difference on your grand total of debt? I think WHEN (notice what I did there) is a success you will have no regrets.

Leave a Reply

Mama at Heart

From TTC to Attachment Parenting

the hopeful worrywart

a type A's journey through TTC, IVF, pregnancy, and motherhood after infertility

Hoping for a Take Home

Keeping the hope for a successful pregnancy and a take-home baby after miscarriage

Journey For My Baby

Mommy After Infertility

Written in Pen

Just a married girl in her mid-20's living with recurrent miscarriage, actively going thru adoption.

Waiting On Baby B

Because Shared Pain is Lessened & Shared Joy is Increased

Epidemic of two pink lines

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Waiting on our Welcome

Husband and Wife waiting to welcome our family.

Officially Pregnant

Our infertility, miscarriage, IVF, and pregnancy journey x 2 (still waiting on pregnancy #2)

Our Path to IVF

We thought we had it all figured out, until we didn't.

Bertha and Ernestina

Hoping these two muppets arrive safely and on time

One Day At A Time

Our Infertility Journey

naming the time between

Trying to Conceive in a Crazy World

whoknewitwouldbethisdifficult

Fertility and me (us I should say!)

Someday Momma

From Infertility to IVF to Twins!

Eventual Momma

From infertility struggles to parenthood, and everything in between

When Dreams Become Rainbows

Trying to live through my worst nightmare

The Odds are Never in My Favor

My hilariously depressing journey with infertility

LOVEcomaMOM

Notes from a future mom, to her future children

The Painful Path to Pregnancy

Wanting to be a parent is different than being a parent

